

# **Alton CC/Owens Cycles**

Hilly 24

07/04/2019 08:00

H24/9

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations.



## Headquarters

The race HQ is situated in Privett Village Hall which is approximately half a mile off the A32, taking the first left after The Angel Hotel whilst travelling South-West on the A32.

http://www.privettvillagehall.co.uk/contact/index.html

For Sat Nav purposes to get to Privett Village Hall, the postcode for Hemplands Lane is GU34 3NU. The other postcode which will take you closer to the hall is for Stocks Lane, GU34 3NY. Neither of these will take you directly to the hall which can be found at the crossroads between these two areas.

#### Route from HQ to start

Turn left out of the village hall and continue to the T-Junction of the A32.

Turn left onto the A32 heading South-West for approximately 1.5 miles.

The start can be found on the North-East carriageway next to the bus stop.

Please see course description for additional information

The start line is approximately 1.5 miles from the HQ, PLEASE ALLOW ENOUGH TIME TO GET THERE

#### Course details

Start at the bus stop sign at the entrance to the Western end of the layby A32 Fareham Road, 496 yards North of the traffic lights at the West Meon Hut crossroads.

Proceed North East on the A32 to the Petersfield / Froxfield crossroads, then turn left heading West onto the unclassified Petersfield Road.

Continue on the Petersfield Road taking great care through Monkwood and the sharp left on the descent after Smugglers lane until you reach the left filter junction of the A31 at Ropley Dene.

Join the A31 West carriageway and continue over the roundabout (2nd exit) at the commencement of the New Alresford by-pass.

Continue on the Alresford by-pass A31 to the roundabout and take the filter left (1<sup>st</sup> exit) onto the dual carriageway section of the A31 heading South-West towards Winchester.

Continue along the Winchester Road A31 until the roundabout at the junction with the B3404 Alresford Road / Science Centre & Planetarium.

Keep to the left (1st exit) and after 500 yards turn left on the slip road to the A272 heading East

### towards Petersfield.

Continue on the A272 through Cheriton and Bramdean to the finish at a point 340 yards short of the traffic lights at the West Meon crossroads.

## **Local regulations**

The Signing on sheet and race numbers will be at the race HQ at Privett Hall from 07:00

Position your number so that it is visible from the rear when in the racing position

Please return your numbers to the HQ afterwards where they can be exchanged for refreshments and you can get your official time

Car parking is available at the HQ or in the lay-by at the start where parking should take into consideration that other road users are entitled to use the lay-by

Turbo Trainers are not to be used within 100 metres of a private residence

Please respect the local residents of Privett

Please respect the volunteers from Alton CC and the timekeepers who are giving up their time

Head-down riding kills – if dangerous riding is witnessed it will be investigated and reported

No 'U' Turns

No parking at the finish except for the timekeeper's vehicle

In the interests of your safety:

CYCLING TIME TRIALS and the promoter strongly advise you to use HARD SHELL HELMETS and use a high visibility REAR LIGHT

Please ensure you take great care through Monkwood and the sharp left double bend on the descent after Smugglers lane, you are strongly advised to familiarise yourself with this section prior to racing. You are not permitted to use Tribars through the double bend and any competitors seen by the marshal to be using them will be disqualified. This section will be clearly marked with signs giving you warmings at 100m, 50m and 25m.

Thank you for your co-operation

# Organiser contact details

Iain Cotton

07758 459092

iainjcotton@gmail.com

# Time keepers/officials

Timekeepers: Kathy Collard-Berry & Chris Thomas

Time Recorder / Assistant: Ian Cargill

### Course records

New Course, no record currently

## Awards/prizes

Male 1 <sup>st</sup> Fastest	£30
------------------------------	-----

Male 2<sup>nd</sup> Fastest £20

Male 3<sup>rd</sup> Fastest £10

Vets 1st Fastest on standard £15

Vets 2nd Fastest on standard £10

Vets 3rd Fastest on standard £5

(Based on the standard for 25 mile times)

Ladies 1<sup>st</sup> Fastest £30

Ladies 2<sup>nd</sup> Fastest £20

Prime £10

(First hill climb and kilometre from the start line, riders must finish the entire course).

### **NOTES TO COMPETITORS:**

- 17. Signing-on Sheet and Signing-out Sheet
- (a) The competitors in all types of events must make themselves aware of any special safety instructions for the event and sign the official signing-on sheet when collecting their number.
- (b) In Type A events a competitor must return to the event HQ either during the event or within

a reasonable time after the last rider has finished the event and must (i) return their race number(s); and (ii) sign the official signing-out sheet. A rider who fails to so sign the official signing-out sheet shall be recorded as DNF.

This event may be subject to a Doping Control As soon as you have finished you should return to the event HQ as it is your responsibility to check if you are required for Doping Control. Race numbers required for Doping Control will be displayed at the HQ adjacent to the result board. If your number is displayed you should report immediately to Doping Control which will be nearby. Remember, it is up to you to check and ensure that you comply. If required you must report to Doping Control after finishing without delay.

# **Startsheet**

# **Alton CC/Owens Cycles**

Start Number	Start Time	Rider	Club	Gender	Category
1	08:01:00	David Walters	Velo Club Godalming & Haslemere		
2	08:02:00	Simon Kidd	Charlotteville Cycling Club		
3	08:03:00	Robert Ditcham	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
4	08:04:00	Guy Henshaw	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
5	08:05:00	James Goward	Farnborough & Camberley CC		
6	08:06:00	Shaun Blow	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
7	08:07:00	Christina Gustafson	Reading CC		
8	08:08:00	Keith Parrish	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
9	08:09:00	Karen Masson	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
10	08:10:00	John Cooke	Pure Motion Cycling Club		
11	08:11:00	Philip Watts	North Hampshire RC		
12	08:12:00	Mike Boyce	a3crg		
13	08:13:00	Charlie Williams	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
14	08:14:00	Oliver Bishop	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
15	08:15:00	Alex Allen	Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA		
16	08:16:00	Pete Christensen	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
17	08:17:00	Ali Walters	Velo Club Godalming & Haslemere		
18	08:18:00	Matt Lusby Taylor	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
19	08:19:00	Mike Hayward	Alton CC/Owens Cycles		
20	08:20:00	Gary Chambers			
21	08:21:00	David Shepherd	a3crg		
22	08:22:00	James Horan	South Downs Bikes / Casco Pet		
23	08:23:00	Simon Craig- mcfeely	a3crg		
24	08:24:00	Nienke Hensbroek	Greenwich Tritons Tri Club		
25	08:25:00	Rich Hunt	Army Cycling		