Cranbrook CC (Sporting)

Cranbrook Cycle Club (Devon) presents The CranbrookCC (Sporting) 10 mile Time Trial

07/04/2019 08:00

S26/10S

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations.



Headquarters

The venue for the race HQ will be <u>Escott Village Hall</u>, Gosford Lane, Fairmile, which is located approximately 1.7 miles from the start line. The venue will be open from 7:00 am and the first rider will set off at 8:01 am. NOTE that car parking is limited at the race HQ. We recommend parking nearby and cycling to the HQ and start.

Race numbers will be in the HQ.

Remember to sign on when collecting your number.

Call number loudly and clearly at finish.

Please return your numbers and sign off after your ride.

Join us for well-earned tea/coffee/cake/biscuits in the HQ afterwards!

Route from HQ to start

Turn right out of the HQ carpark onto Gosford Lane, then first or second right out to the main road through Fairmile. At the main road turn left onto the old A30 towards Whimple. After the cross roads the road proceeds up hill to a T-junction at the top. At the T-junction turn right and pass under the A30 bridge to the start line. Approximate distance from HQ to the start 1.7 miles.

Course details

The Fairmile (Sporting) course S26/10S

The start is situated in a tarmaced farm gateway (Larkbeare lane) on the lefthand side of the old A38 approx 75 yds before going under the bridge and turning left handed Honiton bound towards Fairmile. The course continues down the old A30 Honiton bound through the hamlet of Fairmile up the hill to the T junction (slip road to New A30). Riders turn righthanded and proceed past Pattersons cross and through Fenny Bridges. The course proceeds under the iron bridge towards the slip road to the new A30. Riders take a left turn continuing on the old A30 for approxamately 2 miles and turn left handed in the middle of the large layby on the lefthand side. The riders proceed back up the old A30 Exeter bound through Fenny Bridges, and Fairmile up the hill and finish in the layby on the lefthand side on top of the hill.

Local regulations

RIDERS PLEASE NOTE

CAUTION in the Fairmile dipper. We highly recommend covering the breaks while passing through the crossroads at the bottom of the Fairmile dipper. This is the most hazardous part of the course. It is each rider's responsibility (NOT the marshal's) to ensure that it is safe to proceed.

In the interests of your own safety, Cycling Time Trials and the promoting club strongly recommend you wear a hard-shell helmet that meets an approved international safety standard.

Please observe the Highway Code at all times. Be prepared to give-way to traffic. Ride with your head up. Do not "white line". Wear bright clothing.

It is recommended that a working rear light is fitted to your machine in a suitable position to be clearly visible to following road users and is active for this event. Event officials must not seek to regulate or interfere with other traffic. Riders waiting to start must do so 20m before the timekeeper and stand into the left in single file. CTT guidelines state that when a competitor is caught by another rider, the overtaken rider should fall back to a distance of at least 50 metres behind the overtaking rider.

On completion of the ride, riders must continue past the finish without stopping or turning in the road, to the event HQ. Times will be posted at the HQ as soon as possible. Please leave the time keepers alone to do their job!

Organiser contact details

Paul Keatley 07734527024

cranbrookcycle@gmail.com

Time keepers/officials

Timekeepers: Ms Sally Hutter and Mr Mike Rose - Thank you both!

Starter: Dr Paul Keatley

Marshals: Members of Cranbrook Cycle Club - Thank you all!

Course records

This is a relatively new course used for the first time for the 2018 season Club10s. To the best of our knowledge the course records are.

Men: 20:51 on 24/07/2018 (source Strava)

Women: 26:00 on 26/06/2018 (source Strava)

Awards/prizes

1st, 2nd, 3rd place overall: £20, £15, £10

1st female: £10

1st junior: £10

1st 40>49: £10

1st 50>59: £10

1st 60+: £10

Note one prize per rider. We hope that you will understand that due to the lower than expected number of entries, we are unable to offer a full range of awards.

NOTES TO COMPETITORS:

- 17. Signing-on Sheet and Signing-out Sheet
- (a) The competitors in all types of events must make themselves aware of any special safety instructions for the event and sign the official signing-on sheet when collecting their number.
- (b) In Type A events a competitor must return to the event HQ either during the event or within a reasonable time after the last rider has finished the event and must (i) return their race number(s); and (ii) sign the official signing-out sheet. A rider who fails to so sign the official signing-out sheet shall be recorded as DNF.

This event may be subject to a Doping Control As soon as you have finished you should return to the event HQ as it is your responsibility to check if you are required for Doping Control. Race numbers required for Doping Control will be displayed at the HQ adjacent to the result board. If your number is displayed you should report immediately to Doping Control which will be nearby. Remember, it is up to you to check and ensure that you comply. If required you must report to Doping Control after finishing without delay.

Startsheet

Cranbrook CC (Sporting)

Start Number	Start Time	Rider	Club	Gender	Category
1	08:01:00	Edward Trotman	Cranbrook Cycle Club		
2	08:02:00	David Braunton	Exeter Whs CC		
3	08:03:00	Jean Ackford	Exeter Whs CC		
4	08:04:00	Jude Anthonisz	Exeter Whs CC		
5	08:05:00	Peter Rogers	Team Tor 2000 KALAS		
6	08:06:00	Sam Clarke	1st Chard Wheelers		
7	08:07:00	Jack Dallyn	Exeter Whs CC		
8	08:08:00	Lee Bending			
9	08:09:00	Hetty Summerhayes	Mid Devon CC		
10	08:10:00	Rob Barrow	Exeter Whs CC		
11	08:11:00	Laura Clements	Cardiff Triathletes		
12	08:12:00	Bob Foxwell	1st Chard Wheelers		
13	08:13:00	James Greenaway	Exeter Whs CC		
14	08:14:00	lan Deakin	Mid Devon CC		
15	08:15:00	Phil Smith	Mid Devon CC		
16	08:16:00	Chris Scawn	Plymouth Corinthian CC		
17	08:17:00	Gavin Macdougall	Tavistock Whs CC		
18	08:18:00	Mark Hudson	Bristol South Cycling Club		
19	08:19:00	lan Cullen	Mid Devon CC		